Rady Children’s Institute for Genomic Medicine Appoints Six New Members to Board of Directors

The Rady Children’s Institute for Genomic Medicine (RCIGM) is pleased to announce the appointment of six new members to the Institute’s Board of Directors.

“Each of these dynamic innovators brings extensive experience in providing strategic leadership and oversight to highly successful organizations,” said Dr. Stephen Kingsmore, president and CEO of the Institute. “Their guidance will help us prepare for future success as the Institute continues to grow and develop.”

David F. Hale, chairman of the Institute’s Board of Directors, likewise applauded the addition of the new trustees. “It’s our good fortune to welcome these accomplished individuals to the Board of the Institute,” he said. “Their commitment to excellence will help propel us toward our goal of transforming pediatric medicine.”

RCIGM is the research arm of Rady Children’s Hospital-San Diego. The Institute was founded with the mission of enabling the diagnosis, treatment and targeted clinical care for newborns and children with rare, life-threatening diseases. The Institute is focused on delivering molecular diagnoses through rapid Whole Genome Sequencing (rWGS) to facilitate fast, precise medical care of the most fragile young patients.

The Institute has continued to expand their impact on the world of advanced pediatric genomic medicine, and there is growing recognition for the groundbreaking work, from speed records, to legislative proclamations, to grant awards and scientific distinctions. The Institute is also dedicated to shaping the future of rapid precision medicine by providing educational expertise through ongoing training and mentoring opportunities, annual conferences and educational series.

The Board of Directors has been established to provide strategic oversight and guidance to the Institute. Each new member of the Board will serve a three-year term and bring the board roster to 18 members. The six newly appointed members are as follows:

1. Joe Beery
Senior Vice President and Chief Information Officer
Thermo Fisher Scientific
He is an instrumental leader who cultivates unified culture, and has focused on improving operational reliability and innovative strategies. He was named Senior Vice President of Information Technology and Chief Information Officer following his role as leader of global Information Technology infrastructure. He has spearheaded the merger of multiple organizations through the development and operation of I.T. systems and e-commerce platforms. He holds a B.A. in Business Administration and Business Computer Systems from the University of New Mexico.

2. Scott D. Kahn, PhD
Chief Information Officer
Luna PBC
He is an expert in informatics and data science strategy. Prior to his current role, he was Illumina’s first Chief Information Officer, and was an executive leader in Illumina’s Enterprise Informatics Unit. He holds a PhD in Theoretical Organic Chemistry from UC Irvine and was a Fellow Commoner of Churchill College at the University of Cambridge in England.

3. Donald B. Kearns, MD, MMM
President Emeritus
Rady Children’s Hospital and Health Center
He is a pediatric otolaryngologist who recently retired as CEO of Rady Children’s Hospital and Health Center. He had previously served Rady in various leadership positions including Chairman of the Department of Surgery, Surgeon-in-Chief and Chief Medical Officer. Dr. Kearns earned his medical degree from Louisiana State University School of Medicine and was awarded a Master of Medical Management degree from the Marshall School of Business at the University of Southern California.

4. Frederic B. Luddy
Founder and Chairman of the Board of Directors
He is an innovative entrepreneur with expertise in the growth and development of organizations. He founded ServiceNow in 2004, an enterprise software company that was ranked No. 1 on the 2018 Forbes Most Innovative Companies list. He stepped down as CEO in 2011 to focus on product development and now serves in an advisory capacity.

5. Trindl Reeves, CIC, AAI
Marsh & McLennan Insurance Agency
She has over 30 years of experience providing leadership and expertise in risk management and health and welfare consulting, and has held numerous leadership positions. She is responsible for leading the firm’s company wide sales effort and has played a key role in the company’s rapid growth. In 2011, she was named one of San Diego Business Journal’s Women Who Mean Business. She earned a B.A. in psychology from the University of California, Irvine, and holds the professional designations of Certified Insurance Counselor (CIC) and Accredited Advisor in Insurance (AAI).

6. Jon Soderstrom, PhD
Managing Director, Office of Cooperative Research
Yale University
He is responsible for defining and executing commercialization strategies including negotiation of licenses and corporate-sponsored research agreements, initiating strategic corporate partnerships, and development and marketing of new spin-off companies to the venture investment community. Since joining the Office in 1996, he has helped form 30 new ventures. Dr. Soderstrom was honored as the 87th “Point of Light” by President George H. W. Bush in March, 1990 for volunteer work with low-income families in East Tennessee to build and rehabilitate housing and provide other essential services. He received his Ph.D. from Northwestern University in 1980 and his B.A. from Hope College in 1976.

Contact Us About BeginNGS